Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A silly question  (Read 3938 times)
zzedar
Seedling

View Profile
« on: September 01, 2012, 06:24:27 PM »

I'm a real newbie to Spelunky, so could someone explain the point of the City of Gold to me? As I understand it, you have to go to the Black Market to get into the City, and once you've been to the Market, there are no more shops generated. Given that, why would you want more gold? Is there something else desirable in the city, or is there some other use for gold I'm unware of, or what?
halibabica
Mossy

old guard

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 06:33:07 PM »

Gold collected is basically your high score. Although you can only use it to buy items in the game, your goal is essentially to leave the cave with as many riches as possible.

So, yeah. Points!

Sometimes I wonder if I like Spelunky too much.
ManTrap mod - Tastes Like Spelunky
Hand-drawn comic - Spelunkying
Nathan
Mossy

View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2012, 07:56:58 PM »

And its awesome! And does the black market really stop shops from generating. Also if you really want to go to the city of gold CLICK HERE

zzedar
Seedling

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2012, 12:13:24 AM »

Ah, I see. I came to Spelunky through my love of roguelikes, so I have trouble getting into the more arcade-ish "high scores are the goal" attitude of this.
Nathan
Mossy

View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2012, 01:13:35 AM »

For the first while you should only try to beat the game. I highly recommend giving Spelunky more of a chance

Wonkyth
Big Bossy
Mossy

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2012, 02:46:03 AM »

In Spelunky, the "goal" is whatever you want it to be. Cheesy

Can you read the wry? Can you FEEL the wry?!
Skoke
Mossy

Ballin'

View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2012, 07:00:41 AM »