Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: playing Spelunky with a gamepad  (Read 46649 times)
J Tremblay
Seedling
*
Posts: 1



View Profile WWW Email
« on: September 02, 2009, 09:51:53 AM »

I was wondering if it would be possible to play the game with a game pad. I am really confused with the controls on the keyboard, even I could learn the keyboard, I would probably do that, I am just wondering.  Smiley
Logged

Check out some other great games on SoftHope.blogspot.com
undertech
Seedling
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 09:59:51 AM »

You can, just run the config program from the spelunky folder. I just played with the Xbox 360 wired controller. Bless Derek for making the hat switches (the d-pad) do movement! (Unlike countless other games that assume you want to play 2d platformers with the analog stick...)
Logged
Cobra951
Seedling
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2009, 11:26:23 AM »

It worked with my Airflo EX pad right away, without dealing with the config applet.  So if you have a gamepad already set up under Windows, it should work by default.
Logged
Anifanatic
Bean
*
Posts: 102



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2009, 11:35:26 AM »

I use an x-box 360 wired controller to play Spelunky, so getting it on XBLA will feel right at home. Wink My control scheme is:

X : Whip
Y : Inventory
A : Jump
B : Run
L : Bombs
R : Rope

(Those are L and R shoulder buttons, not trigger).

I have P as purchase on the keyboard (as default) but might swap it with the Y (inventory) because I never use that button ever.
Logged
Zen
Seedling
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2009, 11:42:59 AM »

I've been using a USB adapter for a PS2 controller for ages now, and I had to map the buttons to keyboard keys to make it work.  One side effect of this is that I have L1 and R1 both mapped to run, and I love it.  I haven't been able to reproduce this in the actual gamepad config, though.  Would it be possible to get this added in?
Logged
luvcraft
Seedling
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2009, 12:16:58 PM »

I use an x-box 360 wired controller to play Spelunky, so getting it on XBLA will feel right at home. Wink My control scheme is:

X : Whip
Y : Inventory
A : Jump
B : Run
L : Bombs
R : Rope

(Those are L and R shoulder buttons, not trigger).

I have P as purchase on the keyboard (as default) but might swap it with the Y (inventory) because I never use that button ever.

Perhaps you could move Inventory to the Back button?
Logged
rrrowdy
Seedling
*
Posts: 4



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 04:22:51 PM »

I use an old x-box controller (not 360) and it works fine; I actually think the game benefits from a gamepad. Totally worth it.

My setup is:

A = Jump
B = Item switch
X = Action / Attack
Y = Purchase
Black button = Bomb
White button = Rope
L Trigger = Run

I don't bother using the R trigger, although I did used to use it as the flare button until they were phased out and replaced with the Box O' Flares.
Logged
Anifanatic
Bean
*
Posts: 102



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2009, 05:40:22 PM »

Perhaps you could move Inventory to the Back button?
I don't actually know if back and start work for this, I'll give it a try.
Logged
Vanguard
Shoot
*
Posts: 45


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2009, 09:44:25 PM »

I think a good setup is:

A: Jump
X: Run
B: Attack
Y: Switch
L: Bomb
R: Rope
Back: Purchase
Start: Pause
Logged
Arucard
Mossy
*
Posts: 2811


Hey! Is that CANDY?!?!?

Arucard.Tepes
View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2009, 05:58:36 AM »

Used a Logitech gamepad from the start, for simplicities sake I'll give my setup in 360 controls though.

A: Jump
B: Inventory (never, ever use it though)
X: Attack
Y: I don't even know, never use it either!
LB: Run
RB: purchase
LT: Bomb shortcut
RT: Rope shortcut

Though the triggers are not really triggers. And I have no use to switch inventory anymore, just use the thing when ready.
Logged

Oh, they look like monsters to you?

There's a light in the darkness of everybody's life.
Mars_is_Mars
Seedling
*
Posts: 6



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2009, 07:44:33 PM »

I use a Ps2 controller with a USB converter. my layout is

X: Jump
O: Whip
^: Rope
[]: Bombs

R1/L1: Run
R2: N/A (was flare)
L2: Purchase
Logged

I am not a clever man.
Tanner
Seedling
*
Posts: 5



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2009, 09:23:21 PM »

This is probably a stupid question, but how did you bind both L1 and R1 to run?
Logged
Zen
Seedling
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2009, 12:33:05 AM »

This is probably a stupid question, but how did you bind both L1 and R1 to run?

XPadder lets you bind the same key to multiple buttons.  Spelunky's Gamepad tool does not.
Logged
Tanner
Seedling
*
Posts: 5



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2009, 02:24:17 PM »

Ah, thanks. I forgot about xpadder.
Logged
Nintenturd
Shoot
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2011, 06:42:22 AM »

Genius MaxFire Pandora (since I was looking for a megadrive-like gamepad)
Code:
_L7___|___R8_
| A      456|
|< > = = 123|
|_v_________|
]
Game DOES work with it, gamepad wizard does not, so can't reconfigure
1 - use, 2 - jump, 3 - run, 4 - nothing, 5 - throw bomb, 6 - rope, 7 - nothing, 8 - cycle
(as seen on the scheme, L and R are 7 and 8 )
= means keys that can't be assigned.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 07:00:43 AM by Nintenturd » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: