The Mossmouth Forums

Games => Spelunky Classic => Topic started by: Beltaro on September 20, 2009, 03:48:20 PM



Title: Help!!!
Post by: Beltaro on September 20, 2009, 03:48:20 PM
I am having trouble playing this game:
Every time I try to play, it is as though UP and LEFT are permanently held down on my keyboard (although they aren't, and I was not touching anything at the time of opening the program).

This issue occurs every time I open the game... and oddly enough, I'm having the EXACT same issue whenever I used to try and play an "RPG Maker 2000" game as well.

It's possible this might not be an isolated issue, but it's only these two games that have had this problem. Any ideas what might be the cause/solution?


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: marsgreekgod on September 20, 2009, 04:16:26 PM
No clue.

mabey you have a messed up joy pad pluged in?


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Beltaro on September 20, 2009, 04:53:12 PM
I'm just using keyboard - don't have a joypad plugged in...

I'm gonna try another game made using Game Maker and see if it's something globally wrong...

But yeah, it's still doing it... My guy walks straight left and goes right in the SCORES door and then exits and then enters and then exits... etc.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: AresRomanGod on September 20, 2009, 06:18:32 PM
Hm, have you tried actually pressing the buttons that don't work? It sometimes works for me when the buttons get jammed.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: johnnoz on September 21, 2009, 01:30:15 AM
hmm, the only suggestion i can really give is double and triple check whats plugged into your computer via usb. I once took ages figuring out that my joystick was plugged in, and force feedback was off so it sagged a little to the side  :P.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Beltaro on September 22, 2009, 01:33:01 PM
Yeah, I tried all those things... and then double-tried them... Oh well. Looks like I'll hafta wait for the XBLA version...


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Credendo on September 22, 2009, 02:44:21 PM
Have you run through the key config in the spelunky config? Even rewriting it by reassigning may overwrite some random blank field.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: AresRomanGod on September 22, 2009, 03:47:27 PM
Have you run through the key config in the spelunky config? Even rewriting it by reassigning may overwrite some random blank field.

Yeah, this happened to me too.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Beltaro on September 22, 2009, 11:29:42 PM
Have you run through the key config in the spelunky config? Even rewriting it by reassigning may overwrite some random blank field.

How do I do that? I opened the .cfg file in Notepad, and it was just a bunch of numbers... I didn't know what's what...


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: GreyMario on September 22, 2009, 11:49:31 PM
Have you tried running... oh, I don't know, the config program?

-_-


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Credendo on September 23, 2009, 12:41:43 PM
Have you tried running... oh, I don't know, the config program?

-_-

Translated from smart ass that means try running the config.exe file that came with the install and click on key config in the bottom left corner :P


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Vanguard on September 24, 2009, 01:06:13 AM
This issue occurs every time I open the game... and oddly enough, I'm having the EXACT same issue whenever I used to try and play an "RPG Maker 2000" game as well.

If you're experiencing the same problem in two completely separate programs, it's probably an issue with your keyboard or something.

You said you were waiting for the XBLA version... would you, by any chance, have a 360 controller you can use with your computer?  It works great for Spelunky - I use one, and I don't even own a 360.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: AresRomanGod on September 24, 2009, 08:17:37 PM
This issue occurs every time I open the game... and oddly enough, I'm having the EXACT same issue whenever I used to try and play an "RPG Maker 2000" game as well.

If you're experiencing the same problem in two completely separate programs, it's probably an issue with your keyboard or something.

You said you were waiting for the XBLA version... would you, by any chance, have a 360 controller you can use with your computer?  It works great for Spelunky - I use one, and I don't even own a 360.

Wait, that's possible? Explanation, please. I need to know, since I have a spare 360 controller after I sold mine for a PS3.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Eternal Toaster on September 25, 2009, 01:23:08 AM
If it's a wired 360 controller, you just plug it right in.  I don't think you can use a wireless one on a pc.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: AresRomanGod on September 25, 2009, 12:26:01 PM
If it's a wired 360 controller, you just plug it right in.  I don't think you can use a wireless one on a pc.

Ah, nevermind then. Time to sell this thing on eBay.


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: Kegluneq on September 25, 2009, 01:57:29 PM
Well, you can. You just need a wireless 360 controller receiver. (My friend has one, so we play things like mario kart and smash bros on his godly laptop)


Title: Re: Help!!!
Post by: AresRomanGod on September 25, 2009, 01:57:58 PM
Well, you can. You just need a wireless 360 controller receiver. (My friend has one, so we play things like mario kart and smash bros on his godly laptop)

Nice. Where can I pick one of those up?